The school originally opened in 1835 with one large classroom in an attractive building on a site leased from the Fitzwalter estate. By the turn of the century a second classroom had been added, allowing the children to be taught in separate Infant and Junior classes.
The school served Goodnestone village along with local villages and older ex-pupils have shared their memories of a very different way of life, beginning for some with a long walk across fields, come rain or shine, before settling to the rigour of the school day.
In 1961 the Natural History museum part excavated the complete skeleton of a mammoth discovered in Goodnestone.
This was the inspiration for our school logo!
Throughout time the school has grown and changed in a never ending quest to improve the children’s learning.
The school now boasts an additional barn style building which opened in January 2012. The old Victorian build alongside the new building has made Goodnestone School a wonderful place to be educated. The school continues to thrive. There are currently 4 classes of mixed year groups and an additional room used as a hall.